Share Your view/ News Content With Us
Contact Number:
Email ID:
Upload file:

Uttarakhand Government formation : BJP or Congress

Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha election results have been declared, however, no party could make up a clear majority as it happened in UP. The neck to neck results do not give a clear verdict on the formation of the Government as none of the party could clearly manage 50% seats. Congress, the leader in the State with 32 seats claims that it has the required number of seats to form the Government. On the other hand, the second leader, BJP with 31 seats has its own reason to claim the formation of Government by their party. BSP has won three seats, independents three and Uttarkhand Kranti Dal one.
Congress said it would form the government in the hill state after the new leader is chosen by the party high command. "Let the new leader be chosen by the party high command, thereafter, we will form the government," said state Pradesh Congress Committee chief Yashpal Arya, a day after Congress president Sonia Gandhi was authorised to choose the new leader of the Congress Legislature Party. 
Congress General Secretary and in-charge of party affairs in the state, Chaudhary Berendra Singh  is understood to have left for New Delhi to brief the party high command on the views of the different groups in Congress as well as those of individuals. State Congress Chief Yashpal Arya and Union Minister Harish Rawat are the top Chief Minister candidates.
BJP general secretary Ananth Kumar told reporters, "We will play Holi in Uttarakhand...Congress will not be able to form government there,". Former chief minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank went to Raj Bhavan to greet Governor Margaret Alva, apparently, to seek her blessings for the formation of new government. A BJP leader said the party had managed the backing of five of the seven MLAs, but refused to disclose names. Outgoing chief minister BC Khanduri said, "We are assessing the political situation. In case, the party thinks that it is appropriate to form the government, we will surely stake our claim". 
The party had picked up the slogan 'Khanduri Hai Zaruri' and it is being said that Khanduri was brought to the front in the 11th hour to save the party and he very well achieved his target. It is also being said that Khanduri lost by 4,632 votes in Kotdwar only because he was more committed to the winning position of his party than his own; the party fought the elections under his leadership. 
Dinesh Dhanai, an Independent MLA from Tehri seat, is understood to have expressed his conditional support to Congress, party sources said. The three BSP MLAs can however turn tables in the fight to the right of forming the Government in Uttarakhand, however, they are waiting for the decision to come from their Party Chief Mayawati, said Surajmal. UKD with one MLA, Pritam S Panwar is also waiting for their leader Panwar to take the appropriate call, said party leaders, however, they are convinced that he will not be supporting BJP. There are talks of Harish Durgapal, an Independent from Lal Kuan, to support Congress, however, there has been no such statement made from his side.
Both the leading parties continue the negotiations their own way and the confusion will continue till we get a firm decision and declaration from either of the parties.
>> Editor

Update on: Thursday, March, 8, 2012, 22:16


Leave a Comment